Challenge 2 – A Walk A Day – End of Week

10/30/2010

I can’t believe it is the end of the week.  This week seemed to fly by.  I ended up putting in nearly 60 hours total of work and my head is still spinning.  The challenge this week saved my sanity.  After working so much and also completing a Reiki training where I need to find time to devote either 1.5 hours or 20 minutes to practicing it a day, in addition, to trying to find time for my yoga practice, feeling guilty over my lost run and workout sessions, and sneaking in a few pages of a new book I bought; I found finding time for a walk at the beginning of the week just annoying.  I didn’t want to walk, I didn’t have time for it and I’d rather be running.  I left my iPod at home and was determined to enjoy this stupid challenge (yes, I feel that way too sometimes).  On Wednesday, as I walked my daughter to her bus I looked up the street and saw how the leaves were falling off the trees and started thinking about how winter would soon be here.  For the first time, all week, I was looking forward to walking.

I’d talked to my class about doing a “Walking Meditation”.  In yoga, we use our breath as a point of reference to maintaining awareness in the present moment, but, in a walking meditation, we use our footsteps.  Heel, ball, toe.  Naturally, the mind wanders and you’ve gone 1/2 a mile before you realize you are a million miles away somehow in both the past and present in your mind. But, then, you can always come back to your meditation and instead of ruminating and worrying… you start to relax and feel grounded.

By the end of the week, I needed the walk.  I needed that time for myself and a break from everything else the world was throwing at me.  The warm sun on my back… the sunshine on my face… watching leaves fall from the trees and clouds move across the sky.  These are things I take for granted…. and I’m happy I took the time to appreciate them this week.  I hope you all did too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

