The “I can’t” challenge

02/12/2011

Normally, I try to never say “I can’t” or “I won’t”… breaking down into sobs usually helps avoid me having to speak the actual words 😉

Have you ever found yourself roped into doing something you wish you hadn’t said “yes” to?  Or, giving in to people only to feel like you are always running on “empty” and have trouble getting those same people to give you similar consideration?  If you have never had this happen, then, you might be one of those “same people” I mentioned above.

Actually, I used to feel like I would make my life crazy so everyone else could feel happy and stress free but, honestly, that didn’t work out so well for me.  It might have been the day I looked in the mirror and saw the escaped mental patient looking back… I don’t know… but, that could have been the day that I said “I can’t”.  And, shockingly, the school didn’t stop running its event because I was unable to bring some concoction, my friends didn’t take up pitchforks and sticks because I wasn’t able to meet them for coffee, yoga classes I couldn’t sub still got taught and life basically went on as usual, except that I had a lot less stress.

So, if you are a people pleaser… or find yourself feeling stressed about promises you’ve made… this is your week.  This week… just for ONE week… you are going to say, “I’m sorry, I can’t.”  You can even blame it on me 😉  You are in fact doing a challenge that is global… worldwide (!!), as I have friends from Australia, South Africa, UK, US and other parts of the world who put up with my bizarre ideas to keep life more interesting 🙂

Naturally, if there is something you really would like to do…. please don’t say “I can’t”.  But, take a full 5 seconds to decide for yourself if it’s something you’d like to do or something you feel pressured to do (even if that pressure is only coming from yourself).

*Again, words of warning… please follow the law.  If the light is ‘red’ you cannot say, “I won’t stop” and continue driving… that is illegal and I will set you in time out with a dunce cap on your head for doing so.

2 Responses to “The “I can’t” challenge”

  1. Lucky said

    hahaha…you mean I can say ‘no’? That’s crazy talk.

Leave a Reply

